☼ Congratulations to Apollo 14/15 ☼ (Part 1)

Hello Sunshines ☼!!

The A-level results were released just about two months ago, and we are proud to announce that our seniors have done exceedingly well this year ╰(*´︶`*)╯Congratulations to our senior sunshines!! We will be featuring a few of them in this and some subsequent posts, so keep your eyes peeled 🙂

For our first feature, we have invited Roystan Ang from 14A14 to share with us his experience in Hwa Chong 🙂

Roystan Ang (14A14, Activities I/C)



1. How would you describe your journey in Hwa Chong? What do you miss most about the school?

My journey in Hwa Chong has been challenging, unpredictable, and topsy-turvy, but more importantly, it has also been immensely enriching, enjoyable and memorable. If there’s one thing which I will miss most, it would be the constant companionship and camaraderie of my friends whom I was able to meet and interact with on a daily basis, something which I, in hindsight, did slightly take for granted, especially considering how our conflicting schedules now make such meet-ups considerably rarer and harder to plan. Apart from this, I miss the thrill and team spirit every time I trained and played with the football team, the fun I had with my faculty committee, as well as the intellectual rigour and stimulation regularly provided by lessons, courtesy of my extremely sharp and intelligent teachers.

2. Are there any teachers or educators who have particularly inspired you, and whom you would like to thank?

By and large, every teacher whom I have interacted with one way or another has helped me become who I am today to a certain extent, and thus I feel it is only right if I express gratitude to all of them. In particular, however, I would like to thank two teachers, both from the Humanities Programme: Mr Isaac Koh and Mr Christopher Burge. Mr Koh’s tireless and selfless dedication to helping us improve our Econs grades during the two years in JC, at the expense of his own health and time, is nothing short of what one would expect of an exemplary educator (and then some), and he has truly shown what it takes to be an inspiring role model. On the other hand, Mr Burge has left a mark on me in a different way- his understated style of speaking masks his incredible wit and insight which never fails to astound and enrich my mind. Lessons with him are always thought-provoking and enjoyable, and have certainly been a major contributor to my improved cognitive ability and dexterity today, as compared to when I started JC.

3. How did you manage the stress and pressure nearing the A-level period? What advice do you have for your juniors?


I managed the stress levels in a few ways- I exercised regularly as a form of relaxation, constantly reminded myself to avoid harmful and negative thoughts and focus on the preparation instead (‘What if I screw up this and that paper?’), and chose to study with my friends regularly, so that we could provide both moral and academic support to one another. I think there are a few pieces of advice which I gleaned from my experience- firstly, the ‘A’ Level year is a marathon, not a sprint, so it’s extremely important to pace yourself well and rest regularly so that you do not peak too early or burn out before the critical periods of time; secondly, it’s perfectly alright to slip up and do badly in certain tests before the ‘A’ Levels (I myself was 4th from last in the level for Literature during BT2), and what’s important is to keep calm and learn from your mistakes; thirdly, identify your weaknesses and strengths and adapt your studying accordingly- for example, if you’re weaker in complex numbers then place more emphasis on that during revision; finally, take comfort in the fact that everyone around you is going through the exact same thing- moral support goes a long way in sustaining this arduous journey. All the best!

Leave a Reply

